Sport News

Brazil drop Jesus and Coutinho from squad for friendlies.

Both Gabriel Jesus and Philippe Coutinho were left out of Brazil’s squad for Friday’s friendlies against Ghana and Tunisia as Tite’s side prepares for the World Cup. 

Image source: Punch

The five-time world champions face Ghana on September 23 in the French city of Le Havre before facing Tunisia four days later at the Parc des Princes. 

Jesus, who joined Premier League leaders Arsenal from Manchester City this season, appeared 11 times for Brazil in World Cup qualifying without scoring. The tournament begins on November 20 in Qatar.

Coutinho, who has 21 international goals to his name, has had a slow start to the season with Steven Gerrard’s struggling Aston Villa.

Unsurprisingly, Paris Saint-Germain star Neymar is included in the squad and could play in Tunisia alongside PSG teammate Marquinhos. 

Brazil will begin their bid for a sixth World Cup against Serbia on November 24 in Lusail, followed by games against Switzerland and Cameroon in Group G.

Brazil’s team:

Goalkeepers: Alisson (Liverpool/ENG), Ederson (Manchester City/ENG), Weverton (Palmeiras). 

Defenders: Danilo (Juventus/ITA), Alex Sandro (Juventus/ITA), Alex Telles (Sevilla/ESP), Marquinhos (PSG/FRA), Eder Militao (Real Madrid/ESP), Thiago Silva (Chelsea/ENG), Bremer (Juventus/ITA), Roger Ibanez (Roma, ITA). 

Midfielders: Casemiro (Manchester United/ENG), Bruno Guimaraes (Newcastle/ENG), Fred (Manchester United/ENG), Fabinho (Liverpool/ENG), Lucas Paqueta (West Ham/ENG), Everton Ribeiro (Flamengo). 

Forwards: Antony (Manchester United/ENG), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool/ENG), Matheus Cunha (Atletico Madrid/ESP), Neymar (PSG/FRA), Pedro (Flamengo), Raphinha (Barcelona/ESP), Richarlison (Tottenham/ENG), Rodrygo (Real Madrid/ESP), Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid/ESP). 

Sport News

Salah,Ronaldo among 6 premier league players on 11 man Best FIFA men’s player of the year shortlist

Mohamed Salah, Cristiano Ronaldo and Kevin de Bruyne are among the 11 players that have been shortlisted for the Best FIFA Men’s Player of the year award. Also Chelsea duo Jorginho and N’Golo Kante complete the Premier League contingent on the list for the accolade, which will be awarded on January 17 next year.


Full list ; Lionel Messi,Cristiano Ronaldo,Mohammed Salah,Ngolo Kante,Kylian Mbappe,Jorginho,Kevin de Bruyne,Robert Lewandowski,Erling Haaland,Neymar,Karim Benzema.

Best Coach ; Pep Guardiola, Thomas Tuchel,Antonio Conte,Roberto Mancini,Hans Fickl,Lionel Scaloni, Diego Simeone.

Best Goalkepper ; Alisson, Kasper Schmeichel,Edouard Mendy,Manuel Neuer,Gianluigi Donnarumma.