Social Commentary & World Business

Federal Government set to ban UK,Canada and Saudi Arabia airlines from entering Nigeria in response to Covid-19 Omicron travel ban

The Minister of Aviation, Hadi Sirika revealed the federal government will make sure countries like UK, Saudi Arabia and Canada that put Nigeria on the Covid-19 Omicron variant redlist will be restricted from travelling into the country.

omicron variant
omicron variant

The minister also apologised to Nigerians who have been affected by the travel ban and noted the decision of the FG to reciprocate the ban is in the interest of the country.

hadi sirika
hadi sirika

he said;

“There is also the case of Saudi Arabia that put Nigeria on the ban list. On Sunday, I participated in a meeting with the COVID-19 task force,” NAN quoted the minister as saying.

We have given our input that it is not acceptable by us, and we recommended that those Canada, the UK, Saudi Arabia, and Argentina also be put on the red list.

As they did to us if they do not allow our citizens into their countries; who are they coming, as airlines, to pick from our country?

They are not supposed to come in. I am very sure in the next three days; Monday or Tuesday, all those countries will be put on the red list of COVID-19.”